Piedmont Neighborhood News

What's happening in Piedmont, CA

Bike to Work Day – Thursday May 15th

Posted by Len Gilbert on May 6, 2008

Bike to Work Day

It’s National Bike Month (since 1956) with the biggest day of the month being Bike to Work Day on May 15th. I’ll be riding from Piedmont to Richmond on Bike to Work Day. My route will head down toward the bay for a stop in Emeryville at the Powell St Energizer Station, where I’ll be meeting my coworkers for a ride along the bay trail to the office at the Richmond marina. My approximate route is on bikely.com. The Piedmont-to-Emeryville part is about 3.5 miles. If you’d like to ride with me, even part of the way, let me know (leave a comment on this post or I’m in the directory). I’m riding a 40-year old Raleigh 3-speed, so I’m not hard to keep up with. On your way home from work, Rudy’s Can’t Fail Cafe in Emeryville is hosting a Bike Away from Work Day party 5:30-8:30pm. Free valet bike parking, raffle prizes, and stories to share.

Downtown Oakland’s Bike to Work Energizer Station is huge, with extra giveaways and a pancake breakfast. If you work downtown, it’s an easy bike commute and you’ll see lots of fellow bikers and there is valet bike parking! Also checkout the Walk Oakland – Bike Oakland site for information about other BTWD events and proposed bike lane projects for on Broadway, Oakland/Harrison, Webster, and Franklin. Each of these would improve bicycling to and from Piedmont.

And if you bring your bike on AC Transit or BART to San Francisco, you’ll be in the mecca of BTWD goodies and freebies. The SF Bicycle Coalition has a huge amount of activity planned.

I am also participating in a Team Bike Challenge with some coworkers. The goal is to get points by using your bike instead of your car. Currently we are in second place in Contra Costa County. Typically I leave my bike at the office and use it for rides to lunch, for errands, or to go to Peets. On the 15th I’ll be riding the whole way.

Hope to see you on your bike this month!

Len

Leave a Reply

