Piedmont Neighborhood News

What's happening in Piedmont, CA

“New” Bike to Work – Piedmont to Emeryville

Posted by Len Gilbert on January 11, 2009

My employer used to be located at the Richmond Marina. That was about an hour commute on the bike each way. A nice ride in the summer, but not so much fun in bad weather or on short, cold, dark days.

raleigh-one-way

The company relocated the office to Emeryville the last week of December. Now my bike commute is 4.2 miles and takes about 25 minutes on my Raleigh single speed bike and should get shorter as I ride more. I rode twice last week, which is double what I rode all of the last 6 weeks of 2009.

That’s two days of no gas, no freeway, less polution, and two days of exercise. A good deal all around. My goal is to ride to work twice a week, unless it’s raining.

–L

Leave a Reply

